Celebrating Independent Gainesville
Okay, first off: if you’re still texting and driving, stop. Seriously. You have less than 24 hours to give that up, too, because starting tomorrow (October 1, 2013), Florida’s law against texting and driving goes into effect.
The law was passed to keep the roads as safe as possible.
What you need to know about the law:
1. Don’t text and drive EVER. (Okay, so that’s just seemingly common sense…)
2. Texting while driving (TWD?) isn’t enough to get you pulled over. TWD is a secondary offence, which means there has to be another reason for you to be pulled over.
You must be in violation of another law first, like speeding, not wearing your seatbelt, your taillight is out, etc.
3. You may not TWD, but you can: use your phone for music, navigational apps, or to pick up a call.
4. Texting while driving will be a no. But Florida drivers may text or email if they happen to be stopped at a red light. (Just pay attention to the light, it’s annoying to get stuck behind the person who’s writing the world’s longest text and miss the green light. It messes with the traffic flow, AND is just inconsiderate to everyone else on the road.
5. A first TWD violation is a $30 fine, which may not seem like a lot to some. Remember: it’s a secondary offense. That means you’ll also have another fine on top of the $30.
6. After your first TWD ticket, every additional TWD ticket shall count as a moving violation. To cut to the chase, that means after one TWD, your insurance premium may increase and you’ll have to reckon with the points on your drivers license.
So be smart. Protect yourself. If you absolutely MUST text while in the car, pull over.
Also, if you have time or still think “I can text just fine while driving,” please watch: